Worst Buys

I think it must be a good sign that I really had to rack my brain to think of some of my worst buys over the years.  I like to think I am a smart consumer.  I tend to do research before I buy something, whether I look it up online or ask a trusted friend or family member.  Anyhow, read on for a list of my ‘worst buys’-things I’d never buy again…

(*in no particular order*)

 

  1. Crest Cinnamon Toothpaste

worst1

This toothpaste made the list not because I didn’t like the taste of it, but because I got an allergic reaction when I tried it in first year.  I loved the idea of using a non-minty toothpaste (I used to not really like mint) and bought the toothpaste as an alternative.  However, when I tried it out, I got a rash around my mouth that stuck around for a day or so.  I did end up trying it again a week later, but when I had to same reaction I realized it was definitely the toothpaste that was the problem, so I quickly threw out the tube of toothpaste and never bought it again.

2. Tomato & Basil Triscuits

worst2

Honestly, I just find these crackers to be not good.  I think that tomato and basil flavouring belongs on baguettes, not on crackers.  I bought this variety a couple of years ago and just couldn’t finish off the box.  I will give a shout out to the Rosemary and Olive Oil Triscuits, because they are super delicious.

3. Shoe Racks

worst4

Just putting it out there: I have never found a shoe rack that is so sturdy that shoes stay on it, instead of falling off every time someone walks by or you close a closet door.  I have purchased two shoe racks since moving out on my own and really I haven’t been satisfied with either rack!!  The one we have now goes in our coat closet.  We aren’t able to use the top two shelves as coats are always knocking down shoes, which is super frustrating.  So for all these reasons, I consider shoe racks, in general, to be a “worst buy”.

4. Dark Meat Chicken Nuggets

worst3

When I first moved out on my own, I was trying to score some sales and saw a great deal on nuggets and picked them up without an afterthought.  I was so excited to eat them that I cooked them as soon as I got home–at first bite, I almost spat them out…I couldn’t quite figure it out, but the nugget tasted funky.  There’s not much else to say, other than I will never buy dark meat chicken nuggets again because I really couldn’t stand them.  A “worst buy” for sure!!

What are your worst buys?

Have a good week 🙂

Stacey

 

 

One thought on “Worst Buys

  1. Triscuits in general are yucky. I second the black nuggets. Ikea hanging shoe racks are the best type of shoe storage.
    Bad buys: Beef stew from the Dollar store, expensive in-ear headphones, Apple premium music, knockoff ranch dressing, and drinks…. prior to driving

    Like

Leave a Reply

