La Favorita Italian Restaurant

Last Tuesday, Doug and I visited “La Favorita” restaurant in the Ottawa neighbourhood of Little Italy.  I had given Doug a groupon gift certificate to La Favorita for Christmas and it was our first time visiting the restaurant.

For anyone who has never used Groupon, I’ll explain how it works.  Groupon is a website where you purchase experiences and sometimes goods, for a significantly reduced price.  I think that companies often used Groupon so they will get more business, and I can safely say that I have never had an experience with a groupon that has left me less than satisfied.  I have bought groupons for the Haunted Walk of Ottawa, a tea room in downtown Ottawa, an Indian dinner, and now La Favorita.

The Deal

The deal that I got was $75 for a 3 course meal for 2..including:

  • A bottle of house wine
  • soup or salad
  • pizza or pasta
  • dessert
  • coffee or tea
  • after dinner liqueurs
lafav3
A bottle of white wine to start the meal…our server was AWESOME to keep filling up our glasses every time he checked on us. 
lafav4
‘The Bella’ – chicken, pesto, mozzarella, brie, and almonds.  This pizza was super delicious!! I would never think to add almonds but it was an excellent addition. 
lafav1
I wait patiently for the next course!!  By the way, you can’t tell in this picture, but this was the night of a big snow storm!! The owner of the restaurant kept going outside and shoveling the walkway.  
lafav5
“The Cabria”- sausage and grilled zucchini with mozzarella and tomato sauce.  This pizza was good, but not as special as the Bella, in my opinion. 
lafav2
Doug waits for dessert time!!

Dessert was Creme Caramel for Doug and Cannoli for me.  Both desserts were tasty and the presentation of the cannoli was particularly impressive.  I never order dessert at a restaurant (I’m not a huge dessert person) but it’s nice to have it every once in awhile. That’s kind of the nice thing about getting a groupon…you can treat yourself because you are getting the experience at a reduced price.

lafav8

After dinner, we each had a glass of Limoncello.  It was a refreshing way to end the meal.  The other choices were brandy and Sambuca, and I think that we made the right choice 😉

All in all, I would definitely recommend La Favorita to you…in fact, I think that they have lunch specials so there is a way to go there, even if you’d like a more affordable meal.

Have a great week!

-Stacey

Leave a Reply

