Holiday Re-cap

Lots of photos to share on today’s post!!

I have pictures of a few things I did during the holidays as well as a little of this and that.

 

jan_11
This is the meal that Doug and I made for Winter Getaway.  For the past five years, my friends and I have been renting a cabin for a couple nights during the holiday season.  We all sign up for a meal and then we take turns cooking.  Doug and I made a Thai Broccoli Slaw (broccoli slaw, shredded carrots, Kraft ginger Thai dressing and peanuts) and Pad Thai.

I always look forward to Winter Getaway with my friends.  It’s great to get away and relax with people, especially those that I don’t see too often.  This year, my friend Karen decided that each person attending (there were 10 people) should lead a workshop to mix up the activities we did.  Each workshop lasted about 10-15 minutes…really they were just little games or seminar-type things that “forced” us to try things we wouldn’t otherwise.

I called my workshop “Frugal Divas”.  During the workshop, I shared ideas for saving money when grocery shopping, buying clothes, and going to the spa.  I gave a brief talk on ideas and then the activity I had everybody do was to look through the flyer and plan a meal for 10 people using a $20 budget and what you had at home in your cupboard.

jan18
Being a Frugal Diva!!

Another workshop at Winter Getaway was Beer Tasting 101.  My friend, Kris, led this workshop and we tried 8 beers.  I don’t have any pictures from the workshop, but I found this cool picture online that I think really showcases how many different kinds of beer there are out there!!

jan14
My personal favourite is IPAs!! What’s yours?
jan9
This is the bed we had during our cabin stay.  It’s hard to see, but the outside of the bed is a round leather circle.  🙂

A few days after Winter Getaway, Doug and I went to a friend’s house for New Year’s Eve.  The theme of the evening was Midnight in Paris.  It was a lovely evening!!

jan_13
Can’t believe it is 2017!!
jan_10
I tried a new recipe during the holidays.  The recipe was for homemade healthy coffee creamer.  Basically, you mixed 1 1/2 cups almond milk, 3 tbsp honey and 1 1/2 tsp vanilla (approximate amounts).  The creamer was not bad, but it did not compare at all to the creamer you’d buy in-store. 

jan15

Hygge is a concept I first heard about on CBC radio one day when I was driving.  The idea is that in Denmark, they have long long winters (just like us in Canada)…however the people there have the mindset that winter is a time to be enjoyed, not just endured.

So, from what I gathered, a few ways to hygge (pronounced hoo-gah) include:

  • Bundling up and walking around the neighbourhood, with a yummy hot drink in-hand.
  • Having friends over for a tea party
  • Play board games indoors with friends
  • Include lots of cozy touches in your home; like soft lighting, blankets, candles, and even calming background music.

Check out http://www.yesandyes.org/2015/11/how-to-hygge.html for many more ideas on how to hygge.  This website is where I got a lot of my ideas 🙂

jan17

I hope that you have a great week ahead.  It looks to me that it will be a perfect week to start your hygge practise…if that’s something that interests you.

-Stacey

Leave a Reply

