The Magic of Quinoa

Happy Sunday night to you 🙂

I have been thinking all week what exactly I should blog about tonight and then it came to me…quinoa!!!

Let me backtrack a bit…

This past week, I started working as a 0.8 teacher.  For anyone who is not a teacher, think of teaching full-time as a 1.0, half-time as 0.5, so a 0.8 works out that I am not working two afternoons per week.  The teacher I am replacing is gradually coming back to work so until she is back full-time, I am still in the classroom most of the time.

Anyhow, with the time I’ve had off this week, I have made two quinoa salad recipes. Neither recipe is a new one for me, however both recipes are SO easy, SO delicious, and pretty healthy as well.

So without further adieu, the magic of quinoa…

Why quinoa?

  • Has protein that is comparable to the protein found in a glass of milk
  • Source of riboflavin (helps to reduce migraines)
  • Gluten-free
  • Low glycemic index and is a complex carbohydrate.  (I don’t really know what this means exactly, but it is apparently good if you are trying to manage your weight)

(Source: Huffington Post)

What’s the cost?

Quinoa is sure not cheap.  I paid around $10 for less than 1 kg from Independent.  You can also get it at bulk food stores.  To make your quinoa “last longer”, I recommend mixing it in salads instead of eating it like rice.

The Easiest Thai Quinoa Salad Recipe:

This is the recipe I made this week.  I have adapted it based on a recipe that I found that was much more complicated.  It’s good to make on a weeknight and you can change it up depending on the ingredients you have on-hand.

Make 1 1/4 c quinoa according to package directions.  Let cool.

In a bowl, mix:

  • 2 shredded carrots
  • 2 chopped peppers (any combo is fine)
  • 1/2 red onion, chopped
  • 1/2 pk broccoli slaw (I replaced with spinach this time…wilted it in the warm quinoa)

Mix with quinoa once the quinoa has completely cooled.  Add Kraft Asian Sesame Dressing to taste.  Top with peanuts if desired before serving.

thai1

 

thai2

Hope you have a great week ahead 🙂

Let me know if you have a personal quinoa salad favourite that you recommend me to try !

-Stacey

One thought on “The Magic of Quinoa

  1. If you cook more than you need for your salad, it isn’t bad warmed up with some maple syrup for breakfast. I have had it two mornings this past week. Hated to see it go to waste.
    Mrs. A.

    Like

Leave a Reply

