New Products & Planning for the Week Ahead

Today I picked up a bunch of new products to try at Independent.  I didn’t go shopping with plans to try new products, however all of them were on sale, so I guess you could say the marketing worked on me!!  The way I see it, I really enjoy trying out new products at the grocery store–and it’s rare for me to buy a new product unless it is on sale–so I wait it out, buy things on sale, and then I decide if I’ll buy it regular price again.

Here’s what I picked up today:

deals1
These PC bars are the copycat of the ‘Fiber One’ bars.  We have bought the chocolate variety and ate them up pretty quick, so I figured it was worthwhile to give these bars a try.                                 Price: $1.99 on sale
deals2
Single serve Keurig pods, 0.70 each.  I don’t have a Keurig, but I sometimes buy these to use at work. 

 

deals4
I have planned to do ‘Breakfast for Dinner’ one day this week and thought this bacon would be a great complement.  I am not a huge whiskey fan, but definitely thought this bacon was worth a try, as the apple should balance the whiskey out.  Regular price $7.99, on sale for $3.88.
deals9
If you are a vegetarian, or even just like trying out a meatless meal, I recommend buying Yves products.  I must admit, I only buy them when they are 50% off, but I always enjoy what I get.  The products are never bland, as some may worry (since they have no meat!!).   Price: $3.50 ($7.00 regular)
deals10
Going to try out this lasagna tomorrow night.  PC lasagnas/pasta meals/other entrees go on sale every once in awhile and today was one of those days.  The value is really good (over 1 kg) and I thought I’d give this product a try because we love butter chicken over here.  Price: $5.99, regular $9.99 (I think!)
deals11
This is a new variety of Schneiders sausages that came out earlier this year.  We have tried the spinach and feta variety, but have not tried this kind.  Price: 0.99!! I’m not sure how we will eat these sausages, may put them in some pasta as recommended, or even put them on the BBQ. Either way, it’s 0.25/sausage which is pretty great value!
deals12
Ok, so this is not a new product, but it was an unbelievable sale!!  This pack of sausage rolls was $1.99.  I picked it up because they are great to have on hand if you have impromptu guests. 

In my last post, I said I would be posting about “time-saver” recipes in the near future.  While I don’t have any recipes to share right now, I have a few tips I thought I’d share to save time and eat healthy during the work week…

  • Cut up your fruits and veggies at the start of the week.  As much as I’d love to say this is fun, I really don’t like doing this chore.  However, this is the only way I find that we get through our produce without it going bad.  If I am feeling extra organized, I put fruit and veggies in baggies or tupperware so it’s ready to go for lunches.
  • Plan for at least one “lazy” meal every week.  I used to avoid relying on frozen food for meals during the week, however I have found it’s really good to have one lazy meal every week.  Ours this week is the frozen lasagna.  I find that having a lazy meal motivates me to plan and prepare healthier meals the other days because I have more energy.
  • Find ways to use up leftovers.  A couple weeks ago, we had soft shell tacos.  I don’t know about you, but we always have leftover shells after we are done eating up the taco fillings.  This time, we made breakfast burritos with the shells.  If you have a random ingredient and don’t know how to use it up, I’d recommend Googling it-you just never know what you will find.

Hope you have a great week 🙂

Stacey

Leave a Reply

