Zucchini Fritters

Hello and happy Thursday to you!

Today on the blog, I’m going to review a recipe and show a few pictures related to my capsule wardrobe.

First off, the recipe review: Zucchini Fritters.

I got this recipe from my mom and she got it from a Taste of Home magazine.  It is super simple and a great way to use up zucchini if you have a garden.  I don’t, but zucchini is a cheap vegetable to buy so I do end up picking it up often. 

Ingredients

1/2 c milk

1 egg, lightly beaten

1 c all-purpose flour

1 1/2 tsp baking powder

1/2 package ranch dip mix

2 c grated zucchini

Here’s what you do:

Pour oil in skillet until it is about 2 inches in depth.  Heat it until it is 375.  Combine the milk and egg in a bowl.  Mix dry ingredients separately and then combine with wet.  Add the zucchini.  Drop by rounded teaspoonfuls into the oil and fry until golden brown. 

My tips:

  • You can cook the fritters in a saucepan instead of a skillet if you are concerned about oil spitting up at you.  I used a frying pan and things were pretty good until I was on my last fritter and the oil seemed to have gotten maybe a bit too hot. 
  • I didn’t use a thermometer and my fritters turned out just fine. 
  • Dip the fritters in sour cream or if you are adventurous, try mayo mixed with pesto or hot sauce. 
  • You can also cut up the zucchini in rounds or strips and dip the the pieces in the wet mix and then the dry mix.  We have done this before.  Just be careful not to cut the zucchini into huge pieces as it won’t fry properly. 
fritter2
The finished product!!

The next thing I wanted to share with you is my capsule wardrobe.  If you don’t know what a capsule wardrobe is, look back at my last post 🙂

Earlier this week, Caitlyn came over and helped me go through my wardrobe and cut it down to roughly 37 items of clothing.  It wasn’t as difficult as I thought it would be.  Clothes that I loved and was wearing during summer got to stay in the closet. Clothes that I liked, but wasn’t wearing now, were put away into storage.  Clothes that I was not wearing or did not fit, were put into garbage bags to be donated.

I also made a small pile of clothing to bring to Plato’s Closet in Barrhaven to see if I could make a little bit of money.  Will let you know!!

The picture on the left is what is left of my clothes.  The only exception is pyjamas, workout clothes, and some ‘around the house’ clothes.

The picture on the right is a blouse that I will probably actually wear now that I have less clothes to choose from! I have always liked it, just rarely chose to wear it!!

Hope you have a great day!!  I have lots to do as I am meeting teacher friends for lunch at Lock 17, going to Plato’s Closet, and probably having some DQ later for Miracle Treat Day.

miracle treat day

-Stacey

Leave a Reply

