Homemade Iced Coffee

You may think that it’s easy to make an iced coffee at home…all you do is make coffee, put it in the fridge, and drink it when it has finally cooled down.  That’s how I used to make it too!  That is, until recently when I read a blog post written by the Pioneer Woman (aka Ree Drummond).  My Aunt Kim recommended the post to me and I am really happy that she did.

So, the Pioneer Woman article is about how to make cold coffee concentrate.  Basically, the idea is you make a bulk amount of really strong coffee and store it in your fridge to make iced coffee anytime.  The coffee concentrate keeps for 3 weeks in the fridge and it’s a pretty handy thing to have around at this time of year.

Here is the link to the original blog post by the Pioneer Woman: http://thepioneerwoman.com/cooking/perfect-iced-coffee/

Now, a little more about my experience with making homemade iced coffee…

 

coffee1
I bought the coffee I used from Modern Thymes which is a health food store in Smiths Falls.  It cost around $11.00. 

To make the iced coffee concentrate, you get a pound of coffee and mix it with 32 cups of water.  I used a huge soup pot that I had to mix it.  After you mix it, you leave it room temperature for at least 8 hours.  Then, you get a fine mesh strainer and put it on top of another large container (I used my punch dispenser) and then put a layer or two of cheesecloth on top of the strainer.  Next, slowly pour the coffee mixture into the container.  The grinds will catch in the strainer/cheesecloth barrier. 

 

coffee3
It is helpful to have a (willing) kitchen helper.  😉

cofee6

Once all of the liquid was in the dispenser, I took a shelf out of my fridge so that that it could fit in the fridge.  The whole process took about 30 minutes.  I think that we would use only one layer of cheesecloth next time so it doesn’t take as long.

coffee7

To make a cup of iced coffee, you fill your cup 1/2-3/4 full of iced coffee concentrate and then fill the remainder up with milk/cream/alternative and sweeten it if you’d like.  Pioneer Woman adds ice first but Doug and I found that made it hard to stir.  I would warn that the coffee concentrate is very strong.  I enjoy strong coffee, but I had one of these yesterday at 5 pm and found it hard to sleep at night, so don’t say I didn’t warn you!!

Let me know if you try this recipe, and if you live close, feel free to stop by and try and iced coffee.

Have a great weekend 🙂

Stacey

 

2 thoughts on “Homemade Iced Coffee

  1. I have purchased my coffee beans today at the farmers market, so will be trying this tonight. Can’t wait to try the coffee.

    Like

Leave a Reply

