Dueling Smoothies…3rd Edition

Happy Thursday!  I hope that your day is going well and you are beating the heat in some way.  I am very lucky to have an air-conditioned home…last year at this time, we did not have an air-conditioned home and I feel SO lucky today.

I have been having a great week so far.  Having the time off, I have tried a few new recipes and I have tried to somewhat develop a daily routine.  The new recipes I have tried include: chicken noodle soup (a Panera Bread copycat…inspired by a blog I read –> http://www.healthydivalife.com), peanut butter bars, lemon squares, mango smoothie, and “tropical detox”.  I will share in a bit how my experience was with the two smoothies.

Every day, I have been getting up around 6:15 and taking Daisy for a walk.  After that, Doug and I have breakfast and watch tv, check email/Instagram/etc.  This week, we have been getting very caught up in Pretty Little Liars (Season 6 on Netflix) and we have actually been squeezing an episode in before he goes to school.  After Doug leaves for school, I tidy the house up and write down some goals for the day.  I have been eating lunch around 1 pm and watching The Social (one of my favourite shows) while I eat lunch.  I have been getting some small projects done (organizing cupboards, painting dresser drawers, etc.).  It has been a productive first week of summer.  I know it will go fast!!

Onto the smoothies…

Smoothie #1

*The Kokomo Detox*

The Kokomo Detox Smoothie

Blend 1 banana, 1 cup of pineapple, 1 cup coconut water, and 2 cups of kale.

I modified this recipe a bit.  I added ice and substituted spinach for the kale.  I added ice because I wanted to make a larger smoothie and I used spinach because I find it blends better than kale. 

The verdict: Loved this one!  I’d recommend it to anyone who likes pina coladas.  As always, you cannot taste the spinach at all.  It pretty much tastes like a vacation in a glass!

 

Smoothie #2:  *Cilantro Mango Smoothie*

http://simplegreensmoothies.com/green-smoothie-recipes/cilantro-mango-detox

1.5 c spinach, 1/2 c cilantro, 2 c water.  Blend first 3 ingredients in blender.

1 c frozen mango, 1 c frozen pineapple, 1/2 avocado.  Add next 3 ingredients and blend until smooth.

With this recipe, I  used 1 c of water and 1 c of coconut water.  I did this because I was concerned about the cilantro taste.  I also used canned instead of frozen pineapple (just what I had) and 1/2 c yogurt instead of the avocado (same reason).  

smoo4
Very good coconut water.  It is not cheap though… this cost $3.99.

The verdict: At first taste, this smoothie had a very strong cilantro taste. The more you drank of it, the more your liked it.  It was refreshing and I think cilantro is supposed to help your digestion…but I could be wrong.  I think it’s good for you nonetheless!

 

Who wins???

This round, I must give the honours to Kokomo Detox.  This smoothie is tasty and not fussy to make.  Personally, I found the Cilantro Mango to be complicated as you needed to chop the cilantro and blend the greens and the water before adding the other ingredients.  In the Kokomo Detox, you simply add all the ingredients together and blend away.  Plus, when I made the Cilantro Mango Smoothie, the water shot out of the blender because there was no solid fruit in the blender when I initially blended the drink.

Let me know if you try one of the smoothies!!

Next blog, I will be trying out Cold pressed coffee 🙂

 

Stacey

Leave a Reply

