New Things and What I Did This Weekend

How was your weekend?

About this time on a Sunday, many of us get the “pre-Monday” blues.  It is the time when the weekend isn’t quite over, but Monday isn’t too far away.  I think it’s a good time to reflect on what you enjoyed from the weekend and to prepare yourself for the week ahead. 

So, without further adieu, here is my weekend in photos:

On Friday night, I went with a group of friends to D & S Southern BBQ in Carlsbad Springs (near Russell).  I had been there a couple years ago and I have really wanted to bring Doug there since.  The restaurant is just what it sounds like.  A BBQ place that has tasty beef brisket, pulled pork, chicken, as well as many classic southern side dishes.  Some of the sides we chose from included: corn bread, hush puppies (deep fried cornbread balls), mac & cheese balls, baked beans, fries, and baked potatoes.  D & S also serves only local craft beer, which is a neat fact.  I got the “50/50” (half beef brisket and half pulled pork), with a baked potato, and hush puppies.  Really enjoyed this meal and night out with friends. 

weekend3weekend4

On Saturday night, we kept the “dining out” trend going and met my parents, Shelley, and Shayne for dinner at Shoeless Joe’s in Kemptville.  None of us had been there before and we were all pleasantly surprised at the wide variety of meals in the menu.  I had butter chicken and Doug had a nacho cheeseburger.  Think we will be meeting up at this place again! 

weekend5
Bought Pepsi Ginger (50 cents for a mini can at Walmart) just to give it a try.  Verdict?  Kind of tastes like rum and coke.  I would probably try it again but I am not running out to buy stock in the product 😉

weekend6

Our new kitchen mat!!  I can’t figure out how to rotate the photo so my apologies.  Love this mat- have been looking for a mat that is good for your feet while washing dishes.  This is not that mat!! I couldn’t find a comfort mat right now but at $13.00, this mat is a good price and it will get us through the summer. 

weekend7
Pretty new plant! Today, I made the venture out to Gemmell’s Garden Centre in Smiths Falls.  I bought two plants- this one and an Aloe Vera plant.  Both plants came to just over $15.  The prices and selection at Gemmell’s is great- would highly recommend it to anyone in need of outdoor or indoor plants. 

I hope that you have a great start to your week.  Thank you for reading!

-Stacey

2 thoughts on “New Things and What I Did This Weekend

Leave a Reply

