My Favourite Layered Dip

Hi there and Happy Easter weekend!

Yesterday after school, Doug suggested that we make a recipe for me to post on the blog.  As much as I enjoy posting on here, sometimes I am not too sure what to post about.  Therefore, it is helpful to have a suggestion here and there of what to post.

I started to think about what we should make and I looked around the kitchen.  Last weekend, I bought a bag of avocados and I ate 2 earlier this week but 3 still remained in our overflowing fruit/sometimes veggie bowl.  I suggested that we make guacamole to get rid of the avocados and Doug agreed!  Before we got started, I remembered that we had lots of cream cheese in our fridge so we decided to make a layered nacho dip.

The recipe we use is from memory.  Our group of friends likes to have nights in where we play board games or just chat and eat yummy snacks–and I often bring a variant of this dip to our nights in with friends.  Most people have someone in their family who makes a nacho dip and today I am going to share mine with you.

The Recipe: (layered from bottom to top!)

*The cream cheese/sour cream bottom*

Combine 1 block of cream cheese and 1/2 container of sour cream in a bowl.

dip1

I like to use an electric mixer to get it very smooth.  I didn’t use to have a mixer and I find that the quality of the dip has improved considerably since the mixer has entered the picture. 

While you are mixing, sprinkle in cumin powder and chili powder to taste.  You may alternatively use taco seasoning (about 1/4 of the package, depends how spicy you like it).  Some people don’t add any seasoning at all.  Your choice.   

dip4
I like to use cumin and chili instead of taco mix because it is cheaper and you get to control how spicy it gets! 

*The guacamole layer*

Mash 3 medium avocados.  Add 3 heaping tablespoons of Miracle Whip.  Add a splash of lemon or lime juice and salt and pepper to taste.  Do not overmix or it will be soupy!

*The salsa/cheese layer*

Dollop half a large jar of salsa on top of the guacamole.  Sprinkle 1-1 1/2 c cheddar cheese on top.

 

And voila- you have an impressive, delicious layered nacho dip!  I recommend dipping multigrain Tostitos into this dip but who am I kidding, just buy whatever is on sale and dig in. 

Hope you enjoy.  Happy Easter!! PS -I’d love to hear about your ideas for future posts!

-Stacey

 

 

One thought on “My Favourite Layered Dip

  1. I wood be interested as well as intrigued if dessert loaves were to be included in your blogs. Lemon loaves,banana or seasonal like zucchini wood be of interest as well.

    Like

Leave a Reply

