Another day, another duel

Good evening and welcome to another edition of everybody’s favourite style of post….

It’s Dueeeeelinnng Smoothies!

In case you didn’t read the first ‘Dueling Smoothies’ blog, click here to read it.

Smoothies are a great way to get the nutrients you need in a delicious way.  I am more of a fruit person than a veggie person, and I find that smoothies are a good way to get me to eat enough of the veggies I need to be healthy.

Some people say that they can’t fathom the idea of putting veggies in their smoothies.  In my opinion, you just need to find a good smoothie recipe that hides the veggies effectively 🙂

Last night, I bought kale at Walmart for one of the smoothies I will share in this post.  As you’ll see, the bunch of kale was massive!  It sparked a conversation between myself and the cashier about incorporating veggies into our smoothies.  The cashier said she was wary of putting spinach in a smoothie just because she feared she would be able to taste it.  I ended up sharing my Green Monster Smoothie recipe with her and told her to try it.  It is funny the situations I can get myself into.  In case you are wondering, no, I did not share my blog with her.

Onto the Smoothie Duel….

dueling smoothies

First up is The Healthy Eggnog Smoothie

duel1

My apologies for the blurry picture.  I have an iPhone 4S and I think a new one is needed!  I have almost had it for 3 years, which seems to be a long time in phone years.  Also, I am not sure why I included honey in the picture…there is no honey in this recipe.  Whoops!

Here’s how you make the Healthy Eggnog Smoothie:

2 C. milk (I used Vanilla Almond)

2 raw egg yolks

1 tsp. gelatin

2 very ripe bananas

1 T. vanilla extract

1/2 tsp. cinammon

1/8 tsp. nutmeg

dash of salt 

2 C. ice

 

duel2
It looks like a lot of cinnamon, doesn’t it?

Blend all of the ingredients together and serve immediately.

Click here for the actual recipe.

The Review:

I just have so many opinions about this smoothie!! At first gulp, it was pretty darned good.  The consistency was excellent, however it definitely is no substitute for real eggnog.  I did not make any substitutions in this recipe because I wanted to ensure I made an authentic review.  The only thing that may have been ‘different’ is my bananas were still light yellow and therefore they may not have been ripe enough.  The recipe indicated the browner the bananas, the “rummier” the smoothie would taste.

If you end up making this smoothie, make sure you drink it right away.  We often make our smoothies the night before and drink them with breakfast.  I did exactly that with this one and parts of the smoothie (egg and gelatin) rose to the top and it was just kind of gross, to be really honest.

Overall, a neat change, but next time I would drink it all right away and maybe less cinnamon.

duel3

The second smoothie up for discussion is….The Green Power Smoothie!!

duel4

I found the recipe for this smoothie on Pinterest.  The tagline advertising the post said “Everybody in NYC is obsessed with this 5-ingredient smoothie”.  I just had to try it.  The origins of the recipe come from a place called Terri in New York City.

Here’s the recipe:

1 c. soymilk

1/2 banana

1/2 pear

1 Tbsp almond butter

1 C. kale

Pulse all ingredients until you get a smoothie.  Makes 1 serving.  Note: You are supposed to freeze everything but the soymilk ahead of time.  I didn’t.  Rebel!

Click here for the actual recipe.

duel6

The Review

I pretty much followed all directions for this smoothie except I used vanilla soy milk instead of original. I also doubled all ingredients so I could make two servings.  I really like the smoothness of the drink, however I find that you can never get kale as smooth as spinach.

duel5
The biggest bunch of kale EVER! Bought at Walmart for $3.49.  What a deal 🙂

The verdict

Will it be the Healthy Eggnog Smoothie OR the Green Power Smoothie?

 

Out of these two smoothies, I say Green Power Smoothie is the winner.  The Green Power Smoothie wins because it is simple to make, contains greens, and it is pretty tasty given it contains kale.  The Eggnog Smoothie is not too bad to sip, but I’m faulting it because it is more complicated to make (preparing the gelatin) and it does not keep very well.

Hope you enjoyed!! Share a suggested smoothie below…

-Stacey

One thought on “Another day, another duel

  1. Fun series. 😉 Thanks for giving my egg nog smoothie a try! I agree, nothing beats real homemade egg nog. 😉 Sorry the smoothie didn’t work to save and drink it later, I honestly never have tried that with smoothies.

    Like

Leave a Reply

