Easy Whoopie Pies

Hi guys!

Today’s post is about a recipe I tried for the first time last Saturday.  The recipe is called ‘Chocolate Sandwich Cookies‘ but they are pretty much whoopie pies so that’s what I’m going to call ’em.

I got the recipe from a friend of a friend, and I made them for a family dinner we had last Saturday night.  I have decided to share my experience with the recipe because I’m always trying to find quick and easy desserts that are a little more than just baking up a cake mix cake, but less than baking something from scratch.  I’m sure you know what I mean.

But first, a little joke…

whoopie1


 

Anyway, here is a picture of the recipe itself:

whoopie0
Recipe from Taste of Home magazine

Doesn’t it look easy?!!  That’s because it is!! I pretty much followed the recipe exactly, however I halved all of the amounts just because I didn’t want leftovers.

Keep in mind that the cake mix should not be cakey, it should be like a cookie dough as you are making cookies, therefore not adding as much liquid as you would if you were making a cake.  I’m not sure what the little white balls in the mix are…I couldn’t get them mixed in, but they disappeared once the cookies were baked.

whoopie4

Once the cookies were baked, I left them until they were completely cool.  Then, I spread the cream cheese icing on them and sandwiched each cookie with another on top.  Next time, I would make the cookies a little smaller as I found they expanded more than I thought they would in the oven. 

I was really pleased with how this recipe turned out and I will be making it again for sure!  Let me know what you think 🙂

whoopie5
Shout-out to Shelley’s boyfriend, Shayne, who is known as a cookie monster.  He gives this recipe two thumbs up! 

Hope you have a great week and remember to come back on Sunday for my next post!

-Stacey

 

 

One thought on “Easy Whoopie Pies

  1. These look delicious! Great joke too. I love the way that you highlighted tips and reflections in blue, I found it so useful! I can’t wait to read more!

    Like

Leave a Reply

